Private Bank Minimums: How Much You Need to Qualify

Private bank minimums explained: how much you need to qualify at J.P. Morgan, Goldman Sachs, Bank of America, Citi, Morgan Stanley and UBS, why published minimums conflict, and lower-threshold options like Chase Private Client and Citigold.

Private bank minimums are the first question almost everyone asks and the one with the least consistent answer. J.P. Morgan Private Bank is reported at $10 million in one source and $5 million in another, Citi Private Bank at $25 million in one guide and $5 million in the same site’s other table, and BNP Paribas at €5 million or €1.5 million depending on who you read. This guide pulls together what five sources say about private bank minimums in 2026, shows the conflicts side by side, explains how banks measure the threshold and lists lower-entry alternatives for people who do not yet qualify. It focuses on the United States, with international banks where the sources cover them. Minimums are rarely published by the banks themselves, several sources earn money from banks or advertisers, and the figures change, so treat everything here as a range to confirm with the bank.

Quick Answer: How Much Do You Need for a Private Bank?

  • Entry-level private banking: about $150,000 at Chase Private Client and $1 million combined at Citigold, according to CreditDonkey.
  • Mid-tier private banks: about $3 million in investable assets at Bank of America Private Bank, per GOBankingRates and CreditDonkey.
  • Top-tier private banks: $10 million at Goldman Sachs and, by most accounts, at J.P. Morgan Private Bank, though one site lists $5 million.
  • Typical range: Money Crashers says thresholds run from about $50,000 to $100,000 up to over $2 million, with many banks using $1 million in investable assets.
  • Always verify: J.P. Morgan does not list a minimum on its website, GOBankingRates notes.

Why Private Bank Minimums Are So Hard to Pin Down

Three things cause the confusion.

  1. Banks rarely publish them. GOBankingRates says J.P. Morgan Private Bank’s minimum is “not listed on its website” and relies on a Wall Street Journal report of $10 million. Citi’s fees are “not listed” and require meeting a private banker.
  2. The measure differs. Some banks count investable assets, some combined balances and some net worth. GOBankingRates reports that Citi Private Bank requires a net worth of at least $10 million and at least $5 million in assets, and that clients below $5 million are directed to Citigold.
  3. Third-party sites disagree and mix currencies. The Top 10 Private Banks site lists minimums in local currencies and acknowledges nothing about its own sourcing, and its summaries conflict with its tables.

Private Bank Minimums by Bank: What Each Source Says

BankGOBankingRates (March 2026)CreditDonkey (December 2025)Top 10 Private Banks (May 2026)
J.P. Morgan Private BankNot published; Wall Street Journal reports $10 millionAt least $10 million in investable assets$5,000,000
Goldman Sachs Private Wealth$10 million in investable assetsGenerally $10 million in investable assets$10,000,000
Bank of America Private Bank$3 million in investable assetsOver $3 million in investable assetsNot listed in the minimums table
Citi Private BankNet worth of at least $10 million and at least $5 million in assetsNot listed (Citigold at $1 million combined)$25,000,000
Morgan StanleyNo private banking asset minimum published; advisory accounts $500 to $5 million depending on programPrivate Wealth Management minimum not stated$5,000,000 (Morgan Stanley Private Bank)
UBSNot coveredMinimum not stated$2,000,000

The fastest way to read the table is to notice where the three sources agree: Goldman Sachs at $10 million, and Bank of America around $3 million. The disagreements are J.P. Morgan ($10 million versus $5 million) and Citi ($25 million, or $10 million of net worth with $5 million in assets). The same Top 10 site lists a different set of figures in its separate ranking page: J.P. Morgan at $10 million, Citi at $5 million, Morgan Stanley at $5 million, Bank of America at $3 million, Goldman Sachs at $10 million and Wells Fargo at $1 million, so even one site contradicts itself.

International Private Bank Minimums

The Top 10 Private Banks guide groups banks into tiers using their local-currency minimums, which are not converted and so are only approximate.

TierApproximate minimumExamples listed by the site
AUnder about 1 millionBelfius (€250,000), KBC (€500,000), TD Private Investment Counsel (CAD 500,000)
BAbout 1 millionBarclays (£1,000,000), Julius Baer (CHF 1,000,000), BMO (CAD 1,000,000), UOB (SGD 1,000,000)
CAbout 1.5 to 2 millionBNP Paribas Wealth Management (€1,500,000), UBS ($2,000,000), RBC (CAD 2,000,000), Standard Chartered ($2,000,000)
DAbout 2.5 to 5 millionDeutsche Bank (€3,000,000), DBS (SGD 3,000,000), J.P. Morgan ($5,000,000), HSBC ($5,000,000)
E$10 million or moreGoldman Sachs ($10,000,000), Citi ($25,000,000), Japanese banks (¥200 million to ¥500 million)

Euromoney’s methodology for its private bank AUM rankings, based mostly on September 2024 data, mentions two minimums in passing: $2 million for UBS and €5 million for BNP Paribas. That matches the Top 10 figure for UBS but not for BNP Paribas, where the Top 10 guide lists €1.5 million. Euromoney does not say these minimums were used as ranking criteria.

Data problems in the Top 10 guide. The same site lists Credit Suisse Private Banking at $1,000,000 even though Credit Suisse was absorbed into UBS, includes both “ANZ Private Bank” and “ANZ Private Banking” with different minimums, and gives a US “typical minimum” of $3 million in its regional summary while its table lists US banks at $5 million and above. It also does not disclose how it earns revenue from its “Compare Private Banks” tool. Use it as a rough map, not as a quote from the bank.

Lower-Threshold Options

Not everyone has $3 million to $10 million. CreditDonkey and GOBankingRates list bank programs that carry some of the services at lower entry points.

ProgramEntry requirementWhat you get
Chase Private Client$150,000 average beginning-day balanceDedicated advisor and specialists, portfolio line of credit if eligible, home and auto lending discounts (CreditDonkey); $35 a month, waivable with that balance (GOBankingRates)
Citigold$200,000 combined average monthly balance, or $1 million for Citigold Private ClientWealth specialists for a plan; estate planning, banking and lending guidance (CreditDonkey)
Raymond James$1 million in liquid assets for new clients; no minimum for family members of existing clientsWealth management, specialist advisors and lending (CreditDonkey)
Morgan Stanley banking products$0 minimum deposit for Private Bank banking productsChecking and savings linked to E*TRADE; securities-backed lines of credit (GOBankingRates)
Empower$100,000Wealth management (CreditDonkey)

GOBankingRates notes that J.P. Morgan Private Client has no current fees, with a fee applying in 2026 if the qualifying balance is under $750,000, and that Bank of America’s Preferred Rewards Diamond Honors tier requires a three-month combined average daily balance of $1 million or more.

What Does the Minimum Mean for the Service You Get?

Money Crashers says some banks use tiers, which means the minimum determines who looks after you.

AssetsLikely service (Money Crashers)
Under $1 millionBasic services without a dedicated manager
$1 million to $5 millionA dedicated relationship manager
Over $5 millionThe highest service level

That is why the label “private bank” can mean a checking account with a few perks in one case and a full team in another. Sophisticated services such as family office consulting, art advisory and specialty lending tend to be advertised by the biggest banks. GOBankingRates lists Citi’s art advisory, philanthropy consulting and family office advisory, and J.P. Morgan’s real estate and specialty loans against items such as art and aircraft.

What Counts Toward the Minimum?

Here, too, the sources show variety.

  • Investable assets: Bank of America, Goldman Sachs and J.P. Morgan are described in these terms by GOBankingRates and CreditDonkey.
  • Combined average balance: Citigold, according to CreditDonkey, uses a combined average monthly balance in eligible accounts.
  • Average beginning-day balance: Chase Private Client, per CreditDonkey and GOBankingRates.
  • Net worth plus assets: Citi Private Bank, per GOBankingRates.

Ask the bank whether retirement accounts, business assets, real estate and loans count, and over what period the balance is measured. The sources do not answer that, so it is a question for the banker.

Do Private Bank Fees Rise With the Minimum?

GOBankingRates says private banking typically costs about 1% of assets under management and that account fees are usually not included. Money Crashers gives 0.5% to 1.5% and notes fees often decline as assets grow. The Top 10 site lists fee ranges by bank, such as 0.65% to 1.65% for Morgan Stanley and 0.85% to 1.95% for Goldman Sachs, but it does not disclose its sources, so treat those as unverified. CreditDonkey lists fees as “not stated” for most banks, which is common.

How to Qualify When You Are Close to the Line

The sources do not offer a formula, but the evidence suggests several steps.

  1. Ask which measure the bank uses, assets, combined balances or net worth.
  2. Check lower tiers first, such as Citigold, where GOBankingRates says Citi directs clients below $5 million, or Chase Private Client at $150,000.
  3. Consider consolidating accounts, because some programs use a combined average balance.
  4. Ask about exceptions. CreditDonkey notes Raymond James has no minimum for family members of existing clients.
  5. Compare written fee schedules rather than relying on headline minimums.

Common Mistakes When Researching Private Bank Minimums

  • Trusting a single ranking site. The Top 10 site conflicts with itself and with other sources.
  • Confusing banking and wealth management minimums. GOBankingRates notes Morgan Stanley’s investment advisory programs run from $500 to $5 million while its banking products have a $0 deposit minimum.
  • Ignoring fees. A lower minimum does not guarantee a lower cost.
  • Assuming currency parity. The Top 10 guide mixes euros, pounds, francs and yen without converting.
  • Forgetting that the data changes. The CreditDonkey page notes that some offers may have expired.

Frequently Asked Questions About Private Bank Minimums

What is the minimum for J.P. Morgan Private Bank?

It does not publish one. The Wall Street Journal reports $10 million, according to GOBankingRates, and CreditDonkey also says at least $10 million. The Top 10 site lists $5 million.

What is the lowest minimum for private banking?

Chase Private Client is listed at $150,000 and Empower at $100,000 for wealth management, while Money Crashers puts the low end of private banking at about $50,000 to $100,000.

Is $1 million enough for a private bank?

It is enough for some, such as Citigold Private Client and Raymond James, but not for the largest US names, which are listed at $3 million to $10 million.

Do all private banks require investable assets?

No. Citigold uses combined balances, Chase Private Client an average beginning-day balance and Citi Private Bank a net worth requirement plus assets.

Can the minimum be waived?

The sources show no general waivers, but Raymond James has no minimum for family members of existing clients, and bank programs may include exceptions you can ask about.

This article gives general information, not financial advice. Minimums are rarely published, third-party sites sometimes contradict one another and several sources are paid by banks or advertisers, so always confirm requirements, fees and terms directly with the institution.

Sources

  1. GOBankingRates, Sophia Acevedo, “The Best Private Banks for 2026” (March 3, 2026; compensated by advertisers, rankings methodology not fully explained) – https://www.gobankingrates.com/banking/banks/best-private-banks/
  2. CreditDonkey, “8 Best Private Banks for High Net Worth Individuals” (published July 26, 2023, last updated December 23, 2025; affiliate relationships with some banks) – https://www.creditdonkey.com/best-private-bank.html
  3. Top 10 Private Banks, “Private Bank Minimum Requirements Guide 2026” (published January 1, 2026, modified May 29, 2026; commercial comparison site, sourcing not disclosed) and “Top Private Banks 2025: Rankings and Performance Analysis” (modified May 29, 2026) – https://top10privatebanks.com/blog/private-bank-minimum-requirements ; https://top10privatebanks.com/top-private-banks.html
  4. Euromoney, “AUM Performance Rankings Methodology” (2025; data mainly as of September 30, 2024) – https://www.euromoney.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/AUM-Performance-Rankings-Methodology.pdf
  5. Money Crashers, Brian Martucci, “Private Banking Explained” (published July 24, 2023, updated January 5, 2026) – https://www.moneycrashers.com/private-banking-explained/

Similar Posts